• Website Manager

Recent Events

On 12-13 February 2019, we hosted Hank Chambers (1987) as the most recent Visiting Professor. Tuesday night he led a top-notch journal club followed by lectures and case discussions on Wednesday. We are grateful for Hank's time and expertise.

Also on February 13th, the BAMC Commanding General presented Matt Schmitz (2009), Patrick Osborn (Fac Mbr) and Chris Roach (2005) with the Order of Military Medical Merit. Congratulations to all three on their exemplary service to Army medicine.

From left, Matt Schmitz, Patrick Osborn and Chris Roach are awarded the O2M3 by BAMC CG, BG Ned Appenzeller.

To wrap up a big day for the program and the Association, Bobby Hillert, Executive Director of the Texas Orthopaedic Association, came to BAMC and presented our TOA Quiz Bowl winners, Andrew Murtha (2020) and Andy Franklin (2020) and their faculty advisor Anton Jorgensen (Fac Mbr) with their trophy. The CG took the time to stay and present our winners with his commander's coin.

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAMMC Ortho on the national stage...again

Make sure to watch 60 Minutes tomorrow night (7 EST) when the story of Alex Smith’s amazing return to the NFL continues. Joe Alderete (Fac mbr) is interviewed alongside former Dept. of Rehab Medicine

A long overdue update.....

We have been silent on the website for too long, but that by no means implies that the Department has not been doing great things at all levels. First, congratulations to our Chair, Matt Schmitz (2009

Funding provided by the San Antonio Military Medical Center Department of Orthopaedic Surgery Alumni Association.


110 West Road, Suite 227 

Towson, MD 21204

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon