• Website Manager

Graduation 2019

Updated: Jul 20, 2019

Congratulations to Sean Moroze, Dan Kopolovich, Genevieve Rambau and Tom Wood for completing the best and most rigorous orthopaedic residency in DOD. We are exceptionally proud of you and welcome you into the ranks of "alumni." Sean is off to Eglin AFB, FL, Dan to Langley AFB, VA, Tom to Keesler AFB, MS and Genevieve to a hand fellowship at HSS.

From left, Dan Kopolovich, Sean Moroze, Genevieve Rambau and Tom Wood.

We are very excited to be returning to La Cantera resort after a great year there. Wonderful facilities and service, all expertly arranged by Molly Moroze. Omer Day welcomed back Ted Parsons (1991) as Visiting Professor as well as alumnus, Richard Hurley (2017), for an excellent scientific program.

Rich Hurley at Omer Day 2019.

The Palmer Course at La Cantera is truly amazing. Difficult but not brutal which led to a great day. Congratulations to the winning foursome of Will McClain, Jordan Hauschild, Craig Kampfer (all 2021) and Brad Hisle. Jack Carroll (2020) and Nicole Sgromolo (2022) took longest putt honors; Tom Smith (2023), closest to the pin and Brandon Reeh longest drive.

Our 2019 graduates on the course.

The weekend concluded with a fantastic graduation banquet with family, friends and colleagues. A very fitting capstone to five years of hard work; Patrick Osborn (Fac mbr), former Program Director, saw his first class off into their new careers while Tom Dowd (2010) settled in as the new boss at his first graduation as PD. Congratulations to Dustin Lybeck (2013), this year's winner of the Warren Kadrmas Excellence in Teaching Award.

The 2019 graduates with the old boss and the new bosses.

388 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SAMMC Ortho on the national stage...again

Make sure to watch 60 Minutes tomorrow night (7 EST) when the story of Alex Smith’s amazing return to the NFL continues. Joe Alderete (Fac mbr) is interviewed alongside former Dept. of Rehab Medicine

A long overdue update.....

We have been silent on the website for too long, but that by no means implies that the Department has not been doing great things at all levels. First, congratulations to our Chair, Matt Schmitz (2009

Funding provided by the San Antonio Military Medical Center Department of Orthopaedic Surgery Alumni Association.


110 West Road, Suite 227 

Towson, MD 21204

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon