• Website Manager

2018 AOA Annual Meeting News

Updated: Jul 8, 2018

SAMMC academic excellence was highlighted at the 2018 American Orthopaedic Association Annual Leadership Meeting and the Council of Orthopaedic Residency Directors Summer Meeting.

Congratulations to Ted Parsons (1991) on being elected as 2nd Vice President for the AOA. We look forward to his presidency in 2020.

Congratulations also to Patrick Osborn (Fac Mbr) and Matt Schmitz (2009) on being inducted to the AOA this year. Chris Roach (2005) and Joe Alderete (Fac Mbr) were both elected by the AOA membership and will be inducted at the Annual Meeting in 2019.

Tom Dowd (2010), AJ Johnson (2004) and Jim Ficke (Fac Mbr) are joined by Tom's fellowship mentor, Chris Chiodo, and Dan Kang, MD.

Tom Dowd (2010), Mike Beltran (2012), Jaime Bellamy (2015) and Bryan Lawson (2016) attended the Emerging Leaders Program and Tom Wood and Sean Moroze (2019) both attended as our representatives to the Resident Leadership Forum.

Patrick Osborn (Fac Mbr) leads the 2018 CORD Meeting

Patrick Osborn (Fac Mbr) led a well-received CORD program examining the challenges of fellowship selection, accreditation and resident preparation for subspecialty training. Tom Dowd (2010) presented the program's study on Competency Based Education at the podium and Chad Krueger (2015) gave an excellent discussion on selecting a fellowship during the symposium.

Chad Krueger

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Funding provided by the San Antonio Military Medical Center Department of Orthopaedic Surgery Alumni Association.


110 West Road, Suite 227 

Towson, MD 21204

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon